Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Like Tree45Likes

Thread: Kimber Montana 7mm-08

Quote Originally Posted by Tahr View Post
    You are quoting exceptions here. What you say is not supported by the science or general practical experience. Talk to any farmer about noise induced hearing loss - but you will need to shout. Me - I was a farmer and commercial hunter - 50% hearing loss at age 70.

And, if you can go a life time of hunting without some Wally firing when you were in front of the muzzle you have led a charmed life.

If you reply, please shout (use the cap-lock).

Spot on Bruce

The other week my boy turned 11 on a Sunday so off we went hunting on Monday to the West Coast where I loaded up 20 rounds of a recipe of 120 gr Sierras I typically run in other 7mm-08's which I figured would work in the Kimber.

On the way over we stopped and sighted in the rifle with three shots to zero scope 2 inch high at 100 mtrs and then my son to fire a shot to see how he likes the recoil which he didn't mind.

We didn't have time to sit around to check grouping potential so left it at that.

That afternoon we flew in with James Scott, got camp set up and went for a look where my son shot his first Bull Thar at 147 mtrs with the 7mm-08

So far it's only fired 4 shots in it's current setup... it's a nice rifle to carry.
    jakewire, Bill999 and Micky Duck like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Sarvo View Post
    I watched a UTube clip just last night hunting Tahr in the Landsborough River - great vid
    All Tahr were down low in the bush/scrub guts etc