Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: 223, fmj ADI load data question

223, fmj ADI load data question

Hey guys,

This may be a dumb question but I can't find load data for adi 2206h or benchmark 2 or any other more common powder for hornady 223 55gr fmj-bt, on the adi website.

Can any one explain why that would be? I'm a newbie and was planning to start safe with a similar projectile with a heavier pill and go from there but I found it odd that ADI had data on that pill but not for the expected powders.

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Rn-85 View Post
    Hey guys,

This may be a dumb question but I can't find load data for adi 2206h or benchmark 2 or any other more common powder for hornady 223 55gr fmj-bt, on the adi website.

Can any one explain why that would be? I'm a newbie and was planning to start safe with a similar projectile with a heavier pill and go from there but I found it odd that ADI had data on that pill but not for the expected powders.

Cheers
    Looking on the ADI website Data – Rifle – ADI World Class Powders and Ammunition for a .223 with a 55 gr projectile there was a Benchmark 2 load listed.

Start low and work your way up.

When I was loading for a .223 with 2208 my load was higher than the recommended ADI max (for an 80gr projectile) but it was safe and competitive in my rifle - but I worked my way up to that load.

Yeah there are 55gr pills on the adi website but just the way there was very little for the hornady fmj bt seemed like a red flag.

I would have thought I would have data there for it.

Quote Originally Posted by Rn-85 View Post