Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: 6.5x55 accuracy

6.5x55 accuracy

Hi all. I have a Carl Gustaf rifle that is horribly inaccurate with Hornady ammo but extremely accurate with the homeloads that came with it . Any ideas why this would be? I don't load my own and it's expensive to keep buying different brands trying to find what it likes. I'm relatively new to centrefire rifles so not clued up on it all. TIA

I reckon you need to speak to whoever sold you the rifle and ask nicely for a few reloading lessons!

Buy a used press and dies etc and you are away.
    Use enough gun

there is a bunch of advice about to be dumped on you here...
    SOme is expert advice, some is not so expert.
    I am a glorified novice, so dont ask me!
    Use enough gun

Projectile shape & weight, velocity & OAL all have an effect on accuracy.
    Micky Duck likes this.

I'm not in contact with the person who sold it to me..was a few years ago. I think he had someone else loading them for him. Can you load different calibers with the same gear? I don't use the 6.5 very often.

Surely standard factory ammo should be relatively accurate though?
    Maca49 and Growlybear like this.