Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: Butchery

"use the sawz all to cut the vertebrae"..... almost cut his bloody hand off with it too.
    Mr Browning likes this.
    Use enough gun

I've never done a deer but also being a butcher by trade i have done plenty of slaughtering ie killing,slaughtering and breaking down of carcasses and at no time do you hose or wet meat the only time you are supposed to wet meat is to lightly wash the gut chamber free of acidy gut juices (after gutting) which will taint the meat if left trick is try and bleed the animal when possible a little blood won't hurt just wipe excess of with a dry rag while breaking down into smaller portions all this is the reason being when you wet meat the water starts a decay process not an aging process a decay process will rot the meat much quicker than the aging process for example meat washed and put in a fridge will keep for lets say 3 to 4 days where as aging meat in a fridge will keep for around 2 weeks big difference also aging meat will keep longer than wet meat when both are frozen this has been prooven over many years as the old timers used to hang a carcass in a shed over night and cover it with cloth to keep the dew of it so the water in the dew wouldn't damage the meat by starting the rot process if they had no shed it would be a tank stand or if they had nothing it would be the bathroom or they would find some way of doing it or just plain cut it up fresh into managable pieces and lay it on the kitchen table to cool usually overnight and throw a sheet over it just in case as i said i have not handled deer but that vidio ticks al