Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Suppressor Q&A

Suppressor Q&A

Hi folks,
    been reading up on suppressors a fair bit, have a few outstanding questions. Since it's a different train of thought I figured I would start a new thread rather than add to the old one, which was very informative (https://www.nzhuntingandshooting.co....forward-54768/ )

I'm looking for a hunting suppressor on a 7mm-08 T3, and possibly a suppressor on a heavy barrel 308. Not fixated on anything in particular, just looking to gather more info on suppressors as I'm totally new to them. Probably muzzle forward type, lightweight, reliable. Mostly focused on sound reduction. Don't care a ton about overall length, hence muzzle forward.

DPT seems to come up time and again as the best overall in terms of design, service life, quality, and general preference. Supporting the forum doesn't hurt either

1) Are there more "common" threadings for .284 and .308 cal barrels? Obviously you can thread to any size that wall thickness will allow, but I see people mention that certain threads are more or less common, so may as well get a suppressor in a more common threading, just need to know what those are.

2) Sweet spot for number of baffles on a DPT muzzle forward brake for 7mm08 and 308 that's getting a complete burn before the muzzle?

3) Any significant reason to not get the stainless blast baffle? Assuming the stainless increases first baffle life at the cost of weight/cash? Aluminium baffle=$45, 25 grams; Stainless baffle=$90, 65 grams