Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Alpine

User Tag List

Like Tree202Likes

Thread: BJ73 Landcruiser

Does your wagon have suspension lift in it? If so being a mwb/swb you might just need to fit a gear box spacer to remove the rumble. I did that I my GQ shorty, it sorted it nicely.

Nah it's stock height. Pretty sure it's worn bearings but shit I'm no expert

Had a look at my wheel bearing today after work.

Hub full of water, nice. Still plenty of grease in there though.

Whoever was last in the hub obviously didn't have a big socket and tightened/loosened the locking nuts with a punch. The bearing kit I have doesn't have replacement locking nuts, and I would prefer to replace them rather than re-use the mutilated ones. So I just snugged it up a bit to take the play out and put it all back together. The other thing is that on the 73 series the calliper has a hardline, so it has to be removed to pull the hub off, rather than just unbolted and moved out of the way. So will wait for more parts to do the job properly and avoid having to bleed the brakes twice.

The fun part of re-assembly

Also replaced my broken taillight, breaking a bulb in the process, finding a 24v taillight bulb is a bastard in a small town sometimes. I bought the last one.

Wildman and gadgetman like this.

I went to a local garage and they gave me a few of the locking nuts. Had to drill out and split the old ones off they were that tight. With a strong arm bar and 1m pipe extension I still couldn't budge the nut. When I put the jack under the end of the pipe it just lifted the front of the vehicle off the stands.