Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Alpine

User Tag List

Like Tree1321Likes

Thread: Getting back to living off the land.....

@Barry the hunter Nah I'm just a knock about cook!

Quote Originally Posted by bumblefoot View Post
    @Barry the hunter Nah I'm just a knock about cook!
    ya might be- but you may also inspire new hunters to try and use the meat they shoot - when I think back on my early goat shooting days on east coast we would should 50-80 in a day - none came back with us - but then we were encouraged by the station owners to lower numbers and we took to it with a vengeance - I would visit my Full bore club secretary and armorer - he would sell us two cartons of .303 75rounds in each and we would shoot them all of in a day - no bloody wonder now rather deaf
    bumblefoot and camenzie like this.

Really enjoy this thread and love a bit of goat meat and go goat hunting regularly always have some in the freezer for a nice stew or curry. I find it more mild than most venison.
    We are very picky about the ones that come home with us though, younger nannies generally. Older nannies go to the dog as it can be a bit tough/dry. Billies, almost without exception are left on the hill.
    Have shot some goat off spring pasture last year that was as fatty as any lamb and was excellent eating.
    We've been trying to eat more wild game lately and the freezer is full of goat, rabbit, hare, and venison. I have recently become a bit fond of hare as a meat after being put off from it for a few years.